On June 19, 11 states began polio vaccinations for the year 2022

11 states in India have started polio vaccinations for the year 2022. Learn how India became polio-free and the efforts to protect children through routine immunization.

Medriva Newsroom
New Update



Uttarakhand, Bihar, Chandigarh, Delhi, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Haryana, Punjab, Jharkhand, Rajasthan, and West Bengal hosted the inaugural Sub-National Immunization Day in 2022 on June 19.


Polio vaccine was given to 3.9 crore children under the age of five through the booth, house-to-house, mobile, and transit teams. To protect children, India's regular vaccination regimen includes injectable Inactivated Poliovirus Vaccine.

On March 27, 2014, India and ten other nations in WHO's South-East Asia Region were declared polio-free. On January 13, 2011, the last case of polio was registered in Howrah, West Bengal.

Polio is endemic in Afghanistan and Pakistan. Although the threat of wild poliovirus importation or vaccine-derived polioviruses continues until global eradication, India has been declared "polio-free," underscoring the importance of substantial population immunity and continuous surveillance.

While India is expanding its Universal Immunization Program (UIP) to include more vaccines to protect its children from VPDs, it is critical that all vaccines reach every child in the country. Lessons and techniques from the National Polio Program are being used to enhance routine immunization and target 90% coverage.

State governments, the World Health Organization, UNICEF, Rotary International, and other partners have all contributed to the eradication of polio and the improvement of routine vaccines.

Chat with Dr. Medriva !