VSA is the Health, Social Development, and Labor Minister. Omar Ottley (United People’s Party) issued a ministerial order for healthcare institution PsyCare BV and two BIG-registered psychiatrists one month after the court verdict on May 3.

PsyCare BV’s founder, Dr. Ilse Kelbrick-Fürstenburg, specialises in psychiatric issues and dementia in the elderly, as well as mental diseases in children and adolescents.

The second candidate, Dr. Hendrik Nijdam, is interested in forensic psychiatry. This is a subspecialty of psychiatry that focuses on those who have had a run-in with the law and need mental health care.
He also specialises in treating those who have become psychotic as a consequence of drug misuse or alcohol withdrawal symptoms.

The court ordered Minister Ottley to allow the two psychiatrists to operate in St. Maarten as owners and treating doctors at the new healthcare facility PsyCare BV in Cay Hill as soon as possible.

According to the first article of the ministerial decree, PsyCare BV has been granted permission to operate a health care institution in accordance with the business plan presented in the December 10, 2020 application, which specifically includes outpatient care and treatment programmes, with a focus on treating mental illness by providing psychiatric assessments, prescribing medications, and offering therapies.17 criteria have been placed by the minister.

Dr Kelbrick expressed her joy at being able to resume her practice as a psychiatrist in St. Maarten after almost two years. To keep her registration in the Dutch legal, online, and public register for Professions in Individual Health Care (Beroepen in de Individuele Gezondheidszorg), BIG-registration, she completed continuing medical education (CME). This covers both online educational courses and obtaining the points needed to keep BIG enrollment active.

PsyCare, a mental health institution, was established by ministerial decree on June 3 and is valid for five years. The decrees of Dr Kelbrick and Dr Nijdam are both effective for two years, starting June 3, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.